UK Insurance Index HomeProtect
search advanced search
all categories ALL CATEGORIES
A-Z Categories

popular categories POPULAR CATEGORIES
Car Insurance
Home Insurance
Life Cover
Mobile Phone Cover
Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance

directory categories DIRECTORY CATEGORIES
Business
Event
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Brokers
Life & Protection
Marine
Motor
Non UK Insurers
Pet & Animal
Personal Possessions
Specialist Cover
Sport
Travel

review categories REVIEW CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
Health
Home
Insurance Companies
Life Cover
Motorcycle
Pet & Animal
Possessions
Sport
Travel

article categories ARTICLE CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
General
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Awards
Insurance Guides
Life Cover
Pet & Animal
Travel

news categories NEWS CATEGORIES
Business News
Car and Motor News
General News
Health News
Home & Property News
Life Cover News
Pet and Animal News
Travel News


Review of Homeserve Water Supply Pipe Cover

Submitted by Lorna Bryan
Review Added: 16/12/2009 - Visitor Rating: 4.17 4.17 (6 votes)


Review Categories:
Home Insurance

Customer Review Comments:

I reported a burst external water supply pipe 6 days ago (10/12/09),which in turn has filled the foundations of my house, under 1 foot of water and flooded the outside road.

Under section 7 of the terms and conditions, this leak would qualify as an emergency as it has created 'damage to the property' and also has exposed our family to a 'risk'. We were told the first available appointment would not be until 21/12/09 ! !

They claim to have a 24 hour emergency response and claim to be with you within 2 hours, delivering fast professional assistance.  Homeserve say they will attend tomorrow (17/12/09) and attempt to fix the problem.

It's worthwhile checking your building insurance for emergency help, as all you'll get from Homeserve is lipservice, and music.


Good Points: none
Bad Points: too many to list
Customer Service Rating: 1/5
Value for Money Rating: 1/5
Overall Rating: 1/5
Made a Claim? Yes
Recommended? No

Add your review


comments about this review

Do you agree with this review?

 Add Your Comment

I agree totally with the above. Our main water supply pipe snapped from the stop tap. Water flooding into the house. We were told initially we were not covered. British Gas who cover our internal pipes said HomeServe do cover this and another phone call to them quoting policy wording confirmed they did. 5 calls all throughout the day with a flooded kitchen resulted in an engineer coming 24hrs later. No staff in our area. Why offer the policy? No words to describe this company. Look at your home insurance. This could cover future incidents but be careful it may be HomeServe who your insurance call in emergencies.
Comment by Karen Barker
Date: 5/10/2011

Check their internet site before you alter or renew your policy because at the moment they are offering lower prices to attract new customers via internet only. If you phone any other number that you might have received through ordinary mail they won't know about this (so-say?!) and the price quoted will be higher. What price loyalty eh? I am reading such bad reviews here I am beginning to regret being with them at all.
Comment by Glyn
Date: 16/11/2010

My pipe cover has risen from 19.99 in 2007 to 35 in 2010 with Homeserve and to be honest I find this quite extortionate! Surely the cost of this should be covered by our ever increasing water bills!
Comment by Mary
Date: 1/11/2010

I have been BOMBARDED with telephone calls/letter from HOMESERVE to renew my annual Water Supply Pipe cover ? !!!! AT 136% INCREASE ON PREVIOUS YEAR - NO NO Alternatives CHEAPER by a LOT
Comment by Bob Mawdsley
Date: 12/2/2010


share this review

Share this review:



rate this review

Rate this review:


Please rate this review of Homeserve Water Supply Pipe Cover
between 0 and 5 with 5 being top.
All ratings received for this review.

The comments in this review are the opinion of Lorna Bryan and do not represent a positive or negative judgement by UK Insurance Index of the company or policy reviewed. Whilst all comments are checked for compliance with our submission rules and guidelines we are unable to confirm any of the customer experiences documented. Please bear in mind that any negative reviews may be outnumbered by many more satisfied customers.
latest listings LATEST LISTINGS
UKinsuranceNet Home Insurance
Age UK Home Insurance
Protect Your Bubble Home Insurance - 25 cash back*
Policy Expert Home Insurance Comparison
Staysure Home Insurance

latest reviews LATEST REVIEWS
Domestic and General Washing Machine Cover
Key Connect Home Insurance
Warranty Shop Home Appliance Cover
RIAS Contents Cover
Homeserve Boiler Cover

latest articles LATEST ARTICLES
Home insurance complaints what you can learn from others misfortune
What happens when an insurer won't pay your home insurance claim
Home contents insurance - limit your risk with the right cover limit
Are you a victim of the home insurance postcode lottery?
Will a flood leave your home insurance high and dry?



Home | Privacy & Cookies | Terms of Use | Contact | Submit Site | Advertisers

Page protected, do not copy

This website uses cookies to ensure a reliable browsing experience. If you continue to use this website you are consenting to us using cookies in this way. To find out what cookies are, which ones we use and why we use them please click here.

Copyright © 2017 UK Insurance Index. All rights reserved.
All directory listings, articles and reviews are provided as information only and do not constitute advice or a recommendation of any product or provider. If you use these insurers, we take no responsibility and give no guarantees, warranties or representations, implied or otherwise, for the content or accuracy of these third-party web sites or companies. If you have any doubts you should consult an authorised independent financial adviser for advice based upon your individual needs and circumstances. A database of advisers in your area is available at www.unbiased.co.uk.