UK Insurance Index HomeProtect
search advanced search
all categories ALL CATEGORIES
A-Z Categories

popular categories POPULAR CATEGORIES
Car Insurance
Home Insurance
Life Cover
Mobile Phone Cover
Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance

directory categories DIRECTORY CATEGORIES
Business
Event
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Brokers
Life & Protection
Marine
Motor
Non UK Insurers
Pet & Animal
Personal Possessions
Specialist Cover
Sport
Travel

review categories REVIEW CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
Health
Home
Insurance Companies
Life Cover
Motorcycle
Pet & Animal
Possessions
Sport
Travel

article categories ARTICLE CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
General
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Awards
Insurance Guides
Life Cover
Pet & Animal
Travel

news categories NEWS CATEGORIES
Business News
Car and Motor News
General News
Health News
Home & Property News
Life Cover News
Pet and Animal News
Travel News


Review of Homeserve Cover

Submitted by Mary Moir
Review Added: 23/11/2007 - Visitor Rating: 3.88 3.88 (25 votes)


Review Categories:
Home Insurance

Customer Review Comments:

I am writing to express dissatisfaction and total exasparation with Homeserve. In 2005 we had a problem with blocked drains which we were advised by Homeserve were caused by a collapsed pipe. No problems so far, apart from lack of forthcoming communication. They were totally inept at returning calls and keeping me the customer informed. I was always chasing up for updates.

The contractors eventually employed to undertake the job were incompetent and the "completed work" was of an unsatisfactory finished standard. I endured months of tolerance and patience and eventually Homeserve conceeded that the work was sub-standard. We are now two years down the line and they have employed a different contractor to re-do the work and because of their ineptitude and negligence we have an even worse problem! Still what's stress and frustration when you can be so reassured by reading their vision and values statement "delight our customers by putting them at the heart of verything we do".

Can anyone tell me why so many insurance companies are using these people and why we the customers are prepared to tolerate this!


Good Points: Words fail me
Bad Points: Where do I begin
Customer Service Rating: 1/5
Value for Money Rating: 1/5
Overall Rating: 1/5
Made a Claim? Yes
Recommended? No

Add your review


comments about this review

Do you agree with this review?

 Add Your Comment

3rd day without heating or hot water, Homeserve, contracted by RSA to deal with home emergency claims, reckon it takes 72 hours to get delivery of a Honeyfield valve and up to 5 days to arrange an appointment, but not weekends. Useless.
Comment by Mike Dunne
Date: 1/12/2011

1 weekdown and still no hot water or heating .... it would appear im living this Homeserve hell to.
Comment by ian
Date: 27/10/2011

I took out cover with Homeserve in December 2010. My boiler developed a kettling fault in March 2011. The engineer claimed their was debris in the diverter valve and the 3 year old boiler needed a powerflush which, conveniently, was not covered in the policy. I cancelled immediately. I got boiler cover as part of my contract with Scottish Power. The engineer serviced the boiler, said the kettling was due to a faulty diverter cartridge, ordered the part, fitted it 3 days later, kettling gone. As I expected, Homeserve did not repair my boiler in order to save labour and parts costs.
Comment by M B Mehdi
Date: 9/10/2011

I took out 12 month appliance insurance cover on my oven, the money was debited in February yet I am still waiting for paperwork. The cooker part was rectified but broke again soon after. I was then informed the part was not covered. They have promised on two occasions they will sort it out and call me, this has not happened. They have cut me off during calls. Another time was when I was promised that someone would call me back by 4p.m and when they had not, I called the named manager back, to be informed he only worked until 4p.m. and had gone home.
Comment by asutton
Date: 12/7/2011

Ditto.5 weeks without heating or hot water. Hopeless, unreliable.
Comment by A Titterton
Date: 24/3/2011

Waiting 3 weeks - intermittent boiler failure - engineer ordered the wrong part initially, another week passed he fitted what he thought was the correct part which didn't remedy the fault. He came back and said that as it was working at the time he couldn't diagnose the fault and left.
Comment by TJ
Date: 28/2/2011

I had a blocked drain. Homeserve took six days to dig the hole through my concrete back yard and tell me that a new connector was required. No repair. No explanations! All they were prepared to do was backfill their excavation and thereby reblock the drain. I had an open sewer hole in my back yard from Christmas until I was able to employ a workman in the new year to fit a 10 connector and backfill. They came to do the annual service. The boiler had a minute drip leak. They pronounced the boiler irreparable as the drip had caused corrosion and corrosion is not covered by the policy. No repair and no 200 as advertised for money towards new boiler if under 7 years old.
Comment by K Brock
Date: 21/2/2011

Absolutely hopeless! Intermitent boiler failure was our problem but when I called, they said the boiler had to be completely not working for them to send someone. I explained I had a young daughter just back home from surgery who had to be kept warm but I was told the boiler had to be innoperative for the engineer to diagnose the problem. One call later to a local plumber and he diagnosed the problem of the fan over the phone! Last penny they get from me!
Comment by Wilf
Date: 21/2/2011

I phoned Homeserve on 13 December 2010 as I had a problem with my boiler ie no heating or hot water. It's now 22 December 2010 and I've heard every excuse under the sun and been told so many lies its unreal. They also sub contract to a company called Storm to do their repairs and they are even worse than homeserve. They conjure up every excuse in the book so they don't have to do the repair ie Access is poor, waiting for a part, traffic is bad, engineer on his way - 3 hrs later still no sign - and then he cancels. A complete shower of absolute muck! Keep your money in your pocket and use someone you know.
Comment by patrick ryan
Date: 22/12/2010

Homeserve - Worst service ever, 3 weeks on and the boiler is still not fixt. Freezing cold and nobody cares. Endless waiting, absolute waist of time and money.
Comment by Adam
Date: 17/12/2010

Had a boiler service via homeserve they said it needed parts which they would have to order and left me with no heating telling me that they would call me back. After no contact I found out that some smaller risk part also needed replacing but that was not covered under my policy, and until I got that part replaced they would not do the rest of the work. Of course it took several calls from me to them before they told me this, leaving me then to find another gas engineer to fix the part that they did not cover until they they would repair the part they did. Customer service a joke, communication laughable value for money nil
Comment by Cliff
Date: 21/9/2010

We had to call Homeserve just before Xmas as our boiler broke.We had no hot water or heating for 6 days (and it was snowing/very thick ice outside) but Homeserve failed to get the part on time.We had to get another gas company to do the repair on Xmas Eve.Our boiler broke again about 8 weeks ago.The engineer came to look eventually and temporarily repaired it.It took about 5 weeks to get a very basic part in so it could be repaired properly.
Comment by Emma
Date: 26/3/2010

Homserve have been a total disaster for me. Years of taking my premiums, and when I needed them last weekend it took over an hour to even get through! When I did, they told me to expect a call from a plumber, but I then didn't hear anything for 24 hrs...and that was only to tell me that I would have to wait another 24 hrs for somebody to turn up!! During which time my kitchen ceiling was totally ruined by the leak.
Comment by Steve
Date: 12/1/2010

I have had truly terrible service from HomeServe. My policy says to expect a response time of less than two hours. It took a month to say that I wasn't covered for a tank leak and that after five hours on the phone and two days off work waiting for HomeServe to show up.
Comment by Borius Junior
Date: 13/10/2009

I have Boiler Cover with Homeserve, they couldn't send an engineer on a Bank Holiday! When the engineer did come, he phoned asking for directions and then abandoned the call because he couldn't get a parking space outside my house!
Comment by Richard London
Date: 14/4/2009

Homeserve are rubbish! Zero customer service and their contractors (Storm) are just as unprofessional and unreliable. We have had 15 missed appointments for reasons ranging from misdiagnosis of the problem, simple failure to turn up and inability to order in the correct part.
Comment by Travel Monkey
Date: 14/1/2009

I agree. I find Homeserve great. They sorted out a leaking radiator the day before we went on holiday. Great insurance for peace of mind. Have you ever tried to find a plumber to come out on Easter Sunday/Monday???
Comment by Cristina
Date: 24/3/2008

I can only find one bad review of Homeserve, I know they have there own plumbers and you must have just got a duff sub-contractor. I have been very pleased with Homeserve. If you have had a number of drainage claims it sounds as if your drains are in poor condition, might be worth replacing them?
Comment by kev
Date: 19/1/2008


share this review

Share this review:



rate this review

Rate this review:


Please rate this review of Homeserve Cover
between 0 and 5 with 5 being top.
All ratings received for this review.

The comments in this review are the opinion of Mary Moir and do not represent a positive or negative judgement by UK Insurance Index of the company or policy reviewed. Whilst all comments are checked for compliance with our submission rules and guidelines we are unable to confirm any of the customer experiences documented. Please bear in mind that any negative reviews may be outnumbered by many more satisfied customers.
latest listings LATEST LISTINGS
UKinsuranceNet Home Insurance
Age UK Home Insurance
Protect Your Bubble Home Insurance - 25 cash back*
Policy Expert Home Insurance Comparison
Staysure Home Insurance

latest reviews LATEST REVIEWS
Domestic and General Washing Machine Cover
Key Connect Home Insurance
Warranty Shop Home Appliance Cover
RIAS Contents Cover
Homeserve Boiler Cover

latest articles LATEST ARTICLES
Home insurance complaints what you can learn from others misfortune
What happens when an insurer won't pay your home insurance claim
Home contents insurance - limit your risk with the right cover limit
Are you a victim of the home insurance postcode lottery?
Will a flood leave your home insurance high and dry?



Home | Privacy & Cookies | Terms of Use | Contact | Submit Site | Advertisers

Page protected, do not copy

This website uses cookies to ensure a reliable browsing experience. If you continue to use this website you are consenting to us using cookies in this way. To find out what cookies are, which ones we use and why we use them please click here.

Copyright © 2017 UK Insurance Index. All rights reserved.
All directory listings, articles and reviews are provided as information only and do not constitute advice or a recommendation of any product or provider. If you use these insurers, we take no responsibility and give no guarantees, warranties or representations, implied or otherwise, for the content or accuracy of these third-party web sites or companies. If you have any doubts you should consult an authorised independent financial adviser for advice based upon your individual needs and circumstances. A database of advisers in your area is available at www.unbiased.co.uk.