UK Insurance Index Swiftcover Home Insurance
search advanced search
all categories ALL CATEGORIES
A-Z Categories

popular categories POPULAR CATEGORIES
Car Insurance
Home Insurance
Life Cover
Mobile Phone Cover
Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance

directory categories DIRECTORY CATEGORIES
Business
Event
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Brokers
Life & Protection
Marine
Motor
Non UK Insurers
Pet & Animal
Personal Possessions
Specialist Cover
Sport
Travel

review categories REVIEW CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
Health
Home
Insurance Companies
Life Cover
Motorcycle
Pet & Animal
Possessions
Sport
Travel

article categories ARTICLE CATEGORIES
Business
Car & Motor
General
Health
Home & Property
Insurance Awards
Insurance Guides
Life Cover
Pet & Animal
Travel

news categories NEWS CATEGORIES
Business News
Car and Motor News
General News
Health News
Home & Property News
Life Cover News
Pet and Animal News
Travel News


Review of CoverHeat USave Protection Plan

Submitted by Tin Hun
Review Added: 29/3/2008 - Visitor Rating: 3.57 3.57 (21 votes)


Review Categories:
Home Insurance

Customer Review Comments:

I recently brought a plan to cover for my boiler but when it comes to calling for servicing they have so many handicaps that it covers more than 3 pages, if use font size 12. At one point, they told me that it was not actually covered because you needed a certificate for it being serviced regularly. On their website, it indicated that the boiler had to be in good working condition but did not indicate what is provided. Now, their website has changed, so existing customers are in trouble like me; because we can no longer prove this.

When I talked to their customer service, that told me that it is not actually covered that it will have to be cancelled due to the circumstances and a formal letter for e-mail is required. When I sent it, they reply with a letter indicating there is no refund 'due to condition on Clause E', even though, their staff indicated there should be a refund. What their staff, who represent the company, say and what their company policy said contradicts each other.

Now, I am left with a policy that cost almost £100, does not cover anything and without any refund. My warning to people purchasing a plan is 3 golden rules:

  1. Don't reply on reading their policy, ask instead: policies are for covering the company not us customers.
  2. Buy the policy like car insurance.
  3. Keep copies of what you have read on paper and website.

Good Points: Easy to buy
Bad Points: Too many handy-caps and no refund
Customer Service Rating: 0/5
Value for Money Rating: 0/5
Overall Rating: 0/5
Made a Claim? Yes
Recommended? No

Add your review


comments about this review

Do you agree with this review?

 Add Your Comment

We carried out subcontract work for coverheat, and as with our own insured cutomers we had no complaints from CH or their clients. We did not get paid though for work carried out for coverheat, the really annoying thing is, our insurance was the same price as their's, but provided much better cover. I wish we had touted their customers in our north west areas now!
Comment by Derek Hardman
Date: 20/10/2010

My heating has not been working since March, they are demanding 100 for a no fault call out before they will look to see if there is anything wrong. Not sure where I will go with my complaint now - I am waiting for TS to let me know but seems a bit pointless if they have gone out of business.
Comment by Guy Beattie
Date: 20/5/2009

I understand that Coverheat have now ceased trading. In some ways this is a good thing although it makes it harder to get any money owed back. My experience of dealing with them rated a 0 / 10 on all counts.
Comment by Alan Collett
Date: 26/4/2009

I have had nothing but problems with CoverHeat, they have taken my money and now refuse to answer my emails, phone calls or letters. I am in the process of taking them to court. Just Google CoverHeat and you will find out that they are being investigated by West Sussex County Council trading standards. I now have a policy with British Gas.
Comment by Matt C
Date: 8/2/2009

Coverheat are dreadful at customer service. Their phone operators are surly and defensive I've sat in all day waiting for my boiler to be serviced - no call, no phone to say they aren't coming. Customer service department not a bit interested. Luckily for me my contract is just coming up for renewal, so I shall be cancelling my contract with Coverheat and shopping around. One company that will not be surviving the recession I think!
Comment by Liz Robinson
Date: 8/1/2009

I pay direct debit and at the start of the 2nd year they sent out a renewal and said did not have to do anything as they would continue taking money. However on the service I said to the independent service engineer that there seemed to be a problem with the hot water, he said a diaphragm needed changing. Contacted coverheat and they just fob you off, the heater is for an 83 yo woman.
Comment by Pete Jasper
Date: 9/12/2008

After purchasing the U Save plan last November I have had nothing but problems with this company STAY CLEAR. My case is now with Trading Standards.
Comment by Ken Kelly
Date: 3/12/2008

This is by far the worst company I have ever dealt with. If anybody is looking for boiler cover do not, and I stress again, do not go with this very bad company. They do not cover you for anything. I have recently complained to the FOS and taken my complaint to Trading Standards and Watchdog. Thats how bad it is.
Comment by Rav Bains
Date: 15/4/2008


share this review

Share this review:



rate this review

Rate this review:


Please rate this review of CoverHeat USave Protection Plan
between 0 and 5 with 5 being top.
All ratings received for this review.

The comments in this review are the opinion of Tin Hun and do not represent a positive or negative judgement by UK Insurance Index of the company or policy reviewed. Whilst all comments are checked for compliance with our submission rules and guidelines we are unable to confirm any of the customer experiences documented. Please bear in mind that any negative reviews may be outnumbered by many more satisfied customers.
latest listings LATEST LISTINGS
UKinsuranceNet Home Insurance
Age UK Home Insurance
Protect Your Bubble Home Insurance - 25 cash back*
Policy Expert Home Insurance Comparison
Staysure Home Insurance

latest reviews LATEST REVIEWS
Domestic and General Washing Machine Cover
Key Connect Home Insurance
Warranty Shop Home Appliance Cover
RIAS Contents Cover
Homeserve Boiler Cover

latest articles LATEST ARTICLES
Home insurance complaints what you can learn from others misfortune
What happens when an insurer won't pay your home insurance claim
Home contents insurance - limit your risk with the right cover limit
Are you a victim of the home insurance postcode lottery?
Will a flood leave your home insurance high and dry?



Home | Privacy & Cookies | Terms of Use | Contact | Submit Site | Advertisers

Page protected, do not copy

This website uses cookies to ensure a reliable browsing experience. If you continue to use this website you are consenting to us using cookies in this way. To find out what cookies are, which ones we use and why we use them please click here.

Copyright © 2017 UK Insurance Index. All rights reserved.
All directory listings, articles and reviews are provided as information only and do not constitute advice or a recommendation of any product or provider. If you use these insurers, we take no responsibility and give no guarantees, warranties or representations, implied or otherwise, for the content or accuracy of these third-party web sites or companies. If you have any doubts you should consult an authorised independent financial adviser for advice based upon your individual needs and circumstances. A database of advisers in your area is available at www.unbiased.co.uk.